JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL; & ILLUSIONS

8 Jun

I first read Jonathan during the summer of 1970 when he had just begun his quest for perfection. Jonathan, you see, is a Seagull, and he doesn’t like what’s going on in his flock. He wants to fly high and circle the clouds and dive-bomb and, and ….. Well, needless to say, the others are having none of it. They are perfectly content to just fly down, pluck a fish or two from the ocean, and then just perch all day long in the glorious sun light. But not Jonathan. Jonathan the rebel wants to soar!

Before you start wondering, no, this is not a children’s book nor is it a self-help mantra. Quite simply, this is the story about a Seagull and the power of choice.

“You wanna fly, you got to give up the shit that weighs you down.” *

I was young when I first met Jonathan so, of course, a book about a Seagull was hardly going to be of any consequence. But they, you know the ones, kept badgering me to read it. I did so reluctantly, as a mere diversion, mind you – I didn’t get it.

Throughout the years, however, I began to remember things about Jonathan – so, the other day when I was rummaging through some of the overflow books I keep in the attic, I came across two of Bach’s books, which I promptly set on my night-table in anticipation of a re-read. Very glad I did.

* Jonathan Livingston Seagull via the voice of Richard Bach

Jonathan Scribner Book Company 1970 Hardcover 112 pages Spiritual (fantasy) adventure ~~~ Illusions Dell Publishing Co., Inc. 1977 Hardcover edition-Delacorte Press/Eleanor Friede 1978 -144 pages Mystical adventure

Jonathan
Scribner Book Company 1970
Hardcover 112 pages
Spiritual (fantasy) adventure
~~~
Illusions
Dell Publishing Co., Inc. 1977
Hardcover edition-Delacorte Press/Eleanor Friede 1978 -144 pages
Mystical adventure

One day, long after Jonathan, and during one of my solo flights, I met ‘the Master’. The one ‘ … with power over the illusions of the world..’

“….. we magnetize into our lives whatever we hold in our thought …..” **

This book is about ‘…a Master come to the earth, born in the holy land of Indiana, raised in the mystical hills east of Fort Wayne.’ ***

A stunningly visual portal into what it would be like to live today, on Earth, alongside the King of Kings, the Messiah. Of course He would have to be one of us.

This book skirts along the edge of non-fiction as the main character is our narrator and author, Richard Bach. “In the cloud-washed airspace between the cornfields of Illinois and blue infinity, a man puts his faith in the propeller of his biplane. For disillusioned writer and itinerant barnstormer Richard Bach, belief is as real as a full tank of gas and sparks firing in the cylinders…until he meets Donald Shimoda, former mechanic and self described Messiah …..” overview from Barnes and Noble

If you are a first timer to Mr. Richard Bach the man who, by his own admission, does not enjoy writing – wow, are you in for a treat!

Suspend your disbelief.
Let your Freak Flag fly!

And on that note, I’m off to see what kind of mischief I can get myself into today!

** the voice of Richard Bach via Illusions

*** first page/first (Journal) paragraph
Illusions The Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah

5 Responses to “JONATHAN LIVINGSTON SEAGULL; & ILLUSIONS”

  1. woodlandgnome June 8, 2015 at 8:59 p06 #

    I also read these in the 70’s & 80’s when they were new. Timeless stories . I revisit Illusions frequently , but you have inspired me to go back to Johnathan as well . Perfect summer reading . Best wishes WG

    • WORDMAN June 8, 2015 at 8:59 p06 #

      Don’t you just love it when an old friend pops-up out of nowhere? Enjoy your visit with Jonathan!

      • woodlandgnome June 8, 2015 at 8:59 p06 #

        I do, I do 😉 That is a paperback I’ve kept since high school… may be time for a new copy 😉 Did you read Robert Pirsig, too? His Zen and the Art…. is one I keep coming back to again and again. Always more to discover in his writing 😉

  2. Sil June 8, 2015 at 8:59 p06 #

    That’s too cool. I remember trying to read those books when I was young as well. They were hanging around our house growing up. I guess it’s time for a re-read myself. I’m excited to find out what I missed. Great post!

    • WORDMAN June 8, 2015 at 8:59 p06 #

      These books, as woodland said, are timeless, but don’t expect to find the same Jonathan when you meet-up with him again. These stories mean different things to different people at different times in our lives. Ergo, timeless. And, excited you should be! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

Vagobond

Real Life Travel

Jesus is the Centre, Gospel Teaching Life Church

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, (Philippians 2:9 NIV). There is power in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.... to break every chain! JesusTcentre@gmail.com

Reading Acts

Some Thoughts on the Book of Acts and Pauline Theology

The Whisper of God

"Let us be silent, so that we may hear the whisper of God" Ralph Waldo Emerson ~~~ Several years ago, I started writing down all the amazing ways God used my day to day activities, children, family, friends and nature to teach me. The more I wrote, the more I noticed God in my daily life. It became an exercise of the heart and grew my relationship with Christ in a way I had never experienced. I began to hear God whisper to my heart His desires and lessons for me. I hope that reading some of my stories will encourage you stop and listen for His whisper!

Fr. Ted's Blog

Meditations of an Orthodox Priest

SVMMA APOLOGIA

"FIDES ET HISTORIA"

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

bookowly

bookowly

Franklenstein

Frank book reviews

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Hidden Staircase

Book recommendations for the armchair detective.

She Reads Novels

"She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers" - Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Pages and Pictures

book and movie reviews. mostly books

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Bibliopotamus Book Reviews

Book review site with a focus on classics, contemporary literature and much more!

