THE SHADOW-LINE … A CONFESSION

18 May
First published in book form by J. W. Dent/London and Toronto; and by Doubleday/New York 1917 Soft cover, Penguin Books 1986/157 pages in total - the actual story begins on page 35 and ends on page 145 …. The remainder of pages are most informative. Autobiographical fiction

First published in book form by J. W. Dent/London and Toronto; and by Doubleday/New York 1917
Soft cover, Penguin Books 1986/157 pages in total – the actual story begins on page 35 and ends on page 145 …. The remainder of pages are most informative.
Autobiographical fiction

“The sparkle of the sea filled my eyes ….. The sails hung motionless and slack, the very folds of their sagging surfaces moved no more ….. For a long, long time I faced an empty world, steeped in an infinity of silence, through which the sunshine poured and flowed for some mysterious purpose.” *

I came to The Shadow Line by way of The House of Paper reviewed here. Joseph Conrad was know to me when, in High School, Lord Jim was required reading. And, even though my tattered paperback has followed me the world over since, I never read Lord Jim again.

Joseph Conrad pens this fictionalized autobiography, which, for the most part is going to be difficult if not impossible to describe. Were I able to tell you, however, you would have the sense of it in the same way that you experience a fly buzzing the ether unseen. Enthralled within the movement of words, with eyes not wanting to leave the page, you will hear the story – whispering from behind the shadow line of it’s exquisite prose.

Every page a gift.

This book is about a young captain who is hastily given his first command of a “ghost” ship. It‘s about a first mate who will lose his mind to madness as the malaria sickness spreads without medicine. This book is about a calm sea with not a sigh of a wind to move the ship. And, even though Conrad himself tells us this story is not about the supernatural, a curse and the first captain who died before Conrad took command, tells us otherwise.

Every page a memory.

The telling is told, not so much in the way it actually happened, but rather in the way that Conrad remembers it. When this book was written, in 1915, the world was in the throes of the Great War, and the agony emanated infused itself into this darkly told story.

“If the line between sanity and madness is a thin one, it is scarcely surprising that the distinction between a rational and a superstitious reading of the text should not be blatant.” **

Most excellent adventure.

* first paragraph (in-part) Chapter Five

** page 21 (in-part) Introduction by Jacques Berthoud

2 Responses to “THE SHADOW-LINE … A CONFESSION”

  1. chowmeyow May 19, 2015 at 8:59 p05 #

    I’ve been thinking that I need to give Conrad another chance, as I really didn’t care for Heart of Darkness either of the two times I read it. This sounds more to my liking. Have you read HoD? If so, would you say someone who disliked it would still have a chance at enjoying The Shadow Line?

  2. WORDMAN May 20, 2015 at 8:59 p05 #

    Good Day to you Emily. I’ve not read Heart of Darkness so I can’t speak to it. I can however, say this, to get inside The Shadow Line you will need to know Conrad. His stories are difficult to digest otherwise. Because it was a mainstay in The House of Paper, I had to know the connection. Quite interesting when that connection made itself apparent. For those not familiar with The House of Paper, the pleasure of Conrad’s writing style is joy enough.

Leave a Reply

Vagobond

Real Life Travel

Jesus is the Centre, Gospel Teaching Life Church

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, (Philippians 2:9 NIV). There is power in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.... to break every chain! JesusTcentre@gmail.com

Reading Acts

Some Thoughts on the Book of Acts and Pauline Theology

The Whisper of God

"Let us be silent, so that we may hear the whisper of God" Ralph Waldo Emerson ~~~ Several years ago, I started writing down all the amazing ways God used my day to day activities, children, family, friends and nature to teach me. The more I wrote, the more I noticed God in my daily life. It became an exercise of the heart and grew my relationship with Christ in a way I had never experienced. I began to hear God whisper to my heart His desires and lessons for me. I hope that reading some of my stories will encourage you stop and listen for His whisper!

Fr. Ted's Blog

Meditations of an Orthodox Priest

SVMMA APOLOGIA

"FIDES ET HISTORIA"

bookowly

bookowly

Franklenstein

Frank book reviews

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Hidden Staircase

Book recommendations for the armchair detective.

She Reads Novels

"She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers" - Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Pages and Pictures

book and movie reviews. mostly books

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Bibliopotamus Book Reviews

Book review site with a focus on classics, contemporary literature and much more!

