THE BIRDS OF PANDEMONIUM

8 Dec
.

.

I live in an area surrounded by mountains, most of which skirt the pacific ocean. There are wild animals of all shapes and sizes, on land, in the water and in the air – some of them are my friends. There is a Murder of Crows that seem to think they are the boss of me, perching on wires and cawing incessantly as they wait, not quite so patiently, for the daily food treat they’ve become accustomed to getting. Whenever I venture out for a walk, there they are above me, keeping a keen eye lest their meal ticket encounters danger. They know who I am. They recognize me. And I revel in their protective nature.

Birds are an amazing group of vertebrates with feelings and emotions much like our own. This book, cleverly written, takes pleasure in, and imparts an intelligence that most humans only wish they had.

This is the true story of a woman who built an avian sanctuary in the backyard of her home in northern California and filled the nearly 50 colorful aviaries with 362 rescued exotic birds representing 34 species. This is the true story of the birds who taught her a thing or two about life.

.

.

The only Review I can give on this book is to introduce you to its cast of characters, and to tell you this: if you love birds and think you know them, think again. A magical read.

Michele Raffin, MBA Stanford University; president and owner of Pandemonium

Michele Raffin, MBA Stanford University; president and owner of Pandemonium

.

.

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (b)

.

 

 

 

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (d)

.

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (c)

.

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (e)

.

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (f)

.

 

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (g)

.

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (j)

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (h)

.

Meet_the_Cast_for_P-A-D_1000_1096_70 (i)

.

 

One Response to “THE BIRDS OF PANDEMONIUM”

  1. woodlandgnome December 9, 2014 at 8:59 p12 #

    Intriguing…. especially since I also enjoy the company of birds. There was that Christmas when a Nanday Conure lived in our Christmas tree. He was my gift that year, and it took me more than a week to get him hand trained and back into his cage…. Beautiful site! WG

Leave a Reply

Vagobond

Real Life Travel

Jesus is the Centre, Gospel Teaching Life Church

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, (Philippians 2:9 NIV). There is power in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.... to break every chain! JesusTcentre@gmail.com

Reading Acts

Some Thoughts on the Book of Acts and Pauline Theology

The Whisper of God

"Let us be silent, so that we may hear the whisper of God" Ralph Waldo Emerson ~~~ Several years ago, I started writing down all the amazing ways God used my day to day activities, children, family, friends and nature to teach me. The more I wrote, the more I noticed God in my daily life. It became an exercise of the heart and grew my relationship with Christ in a way I had never experienced. I began to hear God whisper to my heart His desires and lessons for me. I hope that reading some of my stories will encourage you stop and listen for His whisper!

Fr. Ted's Blog

Meditations of an Orthodox Priest

SVMMA APOLOGIA

"FIDES ET HISTORIA"

Bealtaine Cottage ~ Home of Goddess Permaculture and Earth Healing

Colette O'Neill, Innovator of Goddess Permaculture ~Plantswoman ~ Teacher ~ Writer and Photographer

bookowly

bookowly

Franklenstein

Frank book reviews

746 Books

Confessions of a Book Buying Addict

BookPeople's Blog

Austin's largest independent bookstore since 1970 - 603 N. Lamar Blvd.

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Hidden Staircase

Book recommendations for the armchair detective.

She Reads Novels

"She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers" - Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Pages and Pictures

book and movie reviews. mostly books

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Bibliopotamus Book Reviews

Book review site with a focus on classics, contemporary literature and much more!

