GOOD OMENS

19 Aug
HarperCollins soft cover edition 2007 Fiction  369 pages - 383 if you count The Facts, and the adulations of the writers, one for the other, at the end of the book

HarperCollins soft cover edition 2007
Fiction
369 pages – 383 if you count The Facts, and the adulation of the writers, one for the other, at the end of the book

The premise is this: two angels on earth, one runs a second hand bookshop and the other drives around in a 1926 Bentley that only plays music by Queen. One is good; one is not, and since they both came to live on earth way back in the beginning of time – they’ve had an arrangement of sorts. An arrangement that is to be tested as the last days near. The catalyst, of course, is the antichrist – but these two, seemingly bumbling polar opposites, appear to have misplaced him, thus circumnavigating the rapture. Both angels are hell-bent (excuse the pun) on making sure that the end-of-days doesn’t happen, taking full advantage of the antichrist’s disappearance.

This book was originally published in 1990, and collaborates the writing style of two English writers who are at different ends of the spectrum – one dark, the other light (are you getting the picture?). Personally, I didn’t like the lattice twine of these two writer/friends at what appears to be a feeble attempt at an apocalyptic parody with a side of British wit. Too many characters; too much rambling on about nothing; and, too many attempts at funniness, that I was forced to abandon the book mid-stream. And, as far as Agnes Nutter the Witch is concerned? I didn’t stick around long enough to find out. This one fell flat for me.

goodomens-hard-2006 (2)

.

6 Responses to “GOOD OMENS”

  1. thewanderingbookmark August 19, 2014 at 8:59 p08 #

    I enjoyed it, but I have to admit that the humour seemed a bit forced at times.

    • WORDMAN August 19, 2014 at 8:59 p08 #

      Yes, it was just too contrived for me.Thanks for the comment.

  2. Veronica August 19, 2014 at 8:59 p08 #

    You have never been one for British humor. ( oxymoron)

    • WORDMAN August 19, 2014 at 8:59 p08 #

      Actually, I do like British humor. That which slides off the tongue or slithers out of the pen with ease makes me laugh, and I enjoy it very much. I just think Gaiman and Pratchett’s writing styles are like oil and water. They don’t blend. Hey, I’m just sayin’.

  3. Lady Fancifull August 23, 2014 at 8:59 p08 #

    It’s funny Wordman, I like Gaiman very much, but can’t really get along with Pratchett – I read one, and it made me laugh, but then I kind of went ‘oh, okay’ I’ve got how you joke, and drifted off. I too tried this in the hope that as i like Gaiman so much he might pull me more into liking Pratchett, as so many of my friends LOVE Pratchett, but…it didn’t work, I gave up very quickly.

    • WORDMAN August 23, 2014 at 8:59 p08 #

      Whew …. glad I’m not the only one!

Leave a Reply

Vagobond

Real Life Travel

Jesus is the Centre, Gospel Teaching Life Church

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, (Philippians 2:9 NIV). There is power in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.... to break every chain! JesusTcentre@gmail.com

Reading Acts

Some Thoughts on the Book of Acts and Pauline Theology

The Whisper of God

"Let us be silent, so that we may hear the whisper of God" Ralph Waldo Emerson ~~~ Several years ago, I started writing down all the amazing ways God used my day to day activities, children, family, friends and nature to teach me. The more I wrote, the more I noticed God in my daily life. It became an exercise of the heart and grew my relationship with Christ in a way I had never experienced. I began to hear God whisper to my heart His desires and lessons for me. I hope that reading some of my stories will encourage you stop and listen for His whisper!

Fr. Ted's Blog

Meditations of an Orthodox Priest

SVMMA APOLOGIA

"FIDES ET HISTORIA"

bookowly

bookowly

Franklenstein

Frank book reviews

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Hidden Staircase

Book recommendations for the armchair detective.

She Reads Novels

"She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers" - Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Pages and Pictures

book and movie reviews. mostly books

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Bibliopotamus Book Reviews

Book review site with a focus on classics, contemporary literature and much more!

