THE TERROR

23 Apr

Little, Brown and Company Hachette Book Group USA First Edition hardbound 2007 Historical Fiction horror 769 pages

The imagery and atmosphere in this book are brilliantly written in stark and chilling detail. This is, after all, based on the very real Captain Sir John Franklin’s expedition through the Canadian Arctic in search for the Northwest Passage.

During the mission of HMS Terror and HMS Erebus, 129 seamen, and these two Royal Navy Ships, disappeared after having been sighted for the last time in Baffin Bay in the year 1845. Dan Simmons weaves fact with his own imagination, and gives us a theory of what could have possibly happened to these men and these two ships that, as to date, have never been recovered save for a few artifacts and the remains of some dead bodies. In real life, a timeline has been loosely established through these artifacts and human remains.

.

In the book, there is a thing that lies in wait for the men as they make their way, between the moored ships, on the pack ice in temperatures of 100 below zero. Some of the men are succumbing to scurvy; others from lead poisoning; and still others dead from horrific mutilations caused by a monster that is tracking them. There is also a side story about a mysterious Esquimaux (Eskimo) woman (witch) known as Lady Silence, who is somehow able to kill Bear and Seal for her own sustenance while the men‘s provisions are dwindling, and they are starving.

The narratives, which are graphically told from the perspective of some of the main characters, begins to falter about three quarters of the way through where the storyline becomes confusing and doesn’t seem to make any sense at all. This book is excruciatingly long with an ending that baffles and disappoints. And yet, I will be brooding over this tome for a long time to come. Fascinating.

.

4 Responses to “THE TERROR”

  1. echooutside April 23, 2014 at 8:59 p04 #

    This is one of my favorite books! 🙂 It scared me so badly when I first read it.

  2. Verity April 24, 2014 at 8:59 p04 #

    Sounds great and the Franklin expedition is very interesting. I read a completely different novel that also dealt a bit with this same expedition and I really enjoyed this element of the story. It was called The Ice Child by Elizabeth McGregor. I’d like to give this novel a try. Great post 🙂

    • WORDMAN April 24, 2014 at 8:59 p04 #

      Thank you my dear. I am certain you will be enthralled, but be prepared, it is a very long book!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CURRENTLY READING | WORDMAN - May 13, 2014

    […] many books?).  Anyway, I’ve been reading a lot of interest in The Goldfinch, but on the heels of The Terror by Dan Brown, and it’s bazillion pages, I really don’t think I’m up for another marathon so […]

Leave a Reply

Vagobond

Real Life Travel

Jesus is the Centre, Gospel Teaching Life Church

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, (Philippians 2:9 NIV). There is power in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.... to break every chain! JesusTcentre@gmail.com

Reading Acts

Some Thoughts on the Book of Acts and Pauline Theology

The Whisper of God

"Let us be silent, so that we may hear the whisper of God" Ralph Waldo Emerson ~~~ Several years ago, I started writing down all the amazing ways God used my day to day activities, children, family, friends and nature to teach me. The more I wrote, the more I noticed God in my daily life. It became an exercise of the heart and grew my relationship with Christ in a way I had never experienced. I began to hear God whisper to my heart His desires and lessons for me. I hope that reading some of my stories will encourage you stop and listen for His whisper!

Fr. Ted's Blog

Meditations of an Orthodox Priest

SVMMA APOLOGIA

"FIDES ET HISTORIA"

bookowly

bookowly

Franklenstein

Frank book reviews

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Hidden Staircase

Book recommendations for the armchair detective.

She Reads Novels

"She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers" - Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Pages and Pictures

book and movie reviews. mostly books

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Bibliopotamus Book Reviews

Book review site with a focus on classics, contemporary literature and much more!

