THE PRISONER OF HEAVEN

16 Feb
Image

El Prisionero del Cielo/Editorial Planeta, S.A. 2011
First Harper-Perennial edition 2013
Soft cover 278 pages
Suspense

If I knew where to begin, I’d explore the storyline that unfolded before my very eyes, and take you inside the dark, dank abandoned mansion where David Martin pens of his own madness; I’d want you to be a part of the clandestine affairs within the shadows of Barcelona, and come face to face with Andreas Corelli who knows your innermost desires even before you know them yourself.

If I knew where to begin, I‘d take you with me to have tea with Fermin Romero de Torres. We will become mesmerized as we sit quietly whilst he remembers, in the most proper manner of a gentle man of course, the dalliances of his youth; we’ll go to Sempere & Sons Bookshop, and ogle Daniel Sempere’s newest addition; we’ll go together into the gothic underground where it began; and oh my, I do so want to take you with me into the narrow alleyway of Calle Arco del Teatro where the large wooden door echos as it opens into the labyrinth of The Cemetery of Forgotten Books.

But I can’t do any of these things because I don’t know where to begin. You, on the other hand, do – The Angel’s Game (reviewed here and here), was written after The Shadow of the Wind (reviewed here), but in my opinion should be read first. The Prisoner of Heaven takes the storyline and character-studies of all three books, and brings us full circle leaving little doubt that our return to Barcelona is imminent. Exhilarating ride!

I was going to say, if you like gothic mystery; murder; thrilling twists and turns; unrequited passion; and suspense, packaged in the hands of a great writer, you’ll gladly acquiesce to the obsession. BUT I’m not going to say that because if you are here then you are a lover of words who writes and reads, and that, my friends is the all of it.

Image

One Response to “THE PRISONER OF HEAVEN”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. TBR Thursday 17… | FictionFan's Book Reviews - February 27, 2014

    […] See the full review at Wordman […]

Leave a Reply

Vagobond

Real Life Travel

Jesus is the Centre, Gospel Teaching Life Church

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, (Philippians 2:9 NIV). There is power in the mighty name of Jesus Christ.... to break every chain! JesusTcentre@gmail.com

Reading Acts

Some Thoughts on the Book of Acts and Pauline Theology

The Whisper of God

"Let us be silent, so that we may hear the whisper of God" Ralph Waldo Emerson ~~~ Several years ago, I started writing down all the amazing ways God used my day to day activities, children, family, friends and nature to teach me. The more I wrote, the more I noticed God in my daily life. It became an exercise of the heart and grew my relationship with Christ in a way I had never experienced. I began to hear God whisper to my heart His desires and lessons for me. I hope that reading some of my stories will encourage you stop and listen for His whisper!

Fr. Ted's Blog

Meditations of an Orthodox Priest

SVMMA APOLOGIA

"FIDES ET HISTORIA"

bookowly

bookowly

Franklenstein

Frank book reviews

bookpeopleblog.wordpress.com/

Howdy! We're the largest independent bookstore in Texas. This is our blog.

mysterypeople.wordpress.com/

BookPeople's Mystery Bookstore-Within-a-Bookstore, located in downtown Austin, Texas

Hidden Staircase

Book recommendations for the armchair detective.

She Reads Novels

"She had read novels while other people perused the Sunday papers" - Mary Elizabeth Braddon

Pages and Pictures

book and movie reviews. mostly books

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Bibliopotamus Book Reviews

Book review site with a focus on classics, contemporary literature and much more!

